Skip to content

Early Morning Workout

Goodness gracious She Rocks Fitness is POOPED! I just made myself laugh out loud, but it is true. Two early morning workouts followed by two full days of training = TIRED (but in a good way of course). I actually love working out in the morning, because I have found that it is a great way to start your day on a positive note. It is hard to get used to getting up early, when it is still dark out, but once you get the hang of it, it will work. Trust me! Why do I love working out in the morning:

  1. It’s over and done with and I don’t have to think about it the rest of the day;
  2. It gives my metabolism an early boost (need I say more 😉 );
  3. I enjoy watching the sun come up. I find this very peaceful; and
  4. I’m more Focused, Energized, Happy, and Ready to tackle the day!

With that being said, I have had two great early morning workouts the past couple of days! This morning I was up at 6:00 AM. I had my gym clothes already out, my change of clothes in the bag, my training supplies and purse ready to go. It is a good idea to prepare all your stuff the night before, so you don’t have to worry about a thing, upon waking up. I went to the lobby and grabbed a hot cup of coffee and a banana and was off to the gym in 20 minutes. Not too bad. 🙂

Here is the treadmill workout and leg workout that I did this morning. Both are calorie scorchers and will have you sweating in no time. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help. I will use these both on a consistent basis, because I love running and I love training legs.

Treadmill: 45 minutes total

  • Incline: 8 Speed: 3.8 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 9 Speed: 3.8 Time: 1 minute
  • Incline: 10 Speed: 3.8 Time: 1 minute
  • Incline: 11 Speed 3.8 Time: 1 minute
  • Incline: 12 Speed 3.8 Time: 1 minute
  • Incline: 1 Speed 6 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 1 Speed: 6.5 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 1 Speed: 7 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 1 Speed: 7.5 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 1 Speed 6.5 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 1 Speed 6.0 Time: 2 minutes
  • Incline: 1 Speed 6 Time: 2 minutes
  • Repeat the first 5 steps
  • Repeat the last 7 steps
  • 5 Minute cool down

Leg Workout: 30 Minutes

Perform 3 sets with 20 repetitions and take a 1 Minute break in-between each set. Naomi gave me a leg workout similar to this, but I made some small changes. Thanks Naomi for the ideas. This one was great and cannot wait to do it again!

  • Reverse Lunge with Dumbbells (Perform all repetitions on 1 leg then switch)
  • Stability Ball Leg-Curl
  • 1-Minute Plank with forearms on ball
  • Deadlift with Dumbbells
  • Step-Ups with Dumbbells (Perform all repetitions on 1 leg then switch)
  • Russian twist with medicine ball
  • Plie with Dumbbell
  • Wall Squat with Stability Ball (1-minute)
  • Burpees

Tomorrow is another early morning workout. The goal is to do some cardio on the treadmill and Stair Master. Training all day again and then hoping to take a Yoga class after training to stretch it ouuuuuttttt! I’m really looking forward to this. Have a wonderful Hump Day and please feel free to ask any questions!

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. NICE! glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂 i love working out in the morning too, it puts such a positive spin on my day!

    November 17, 2010
  2. ooh I love this workout, I must try it!!

    November 18, 2010

Leave a Reply

