Skip to content

Eating Healthy on the Road

She Rocks Fitness is taking a drive this weekend…A very LONG drive to the middle of the country for some training. I don’t mind long distance drives, but I cannot stand driving at night. So for this 8 hour drive, I’m planning on leaving in the morning, since the days are so dang short and hopefully get there just as it gets dark. 😦 I’m hoping that if I make good timing, I can get situated, do a quick workout, have dinner and relax before the training begins on Monday AM. Only time will tell…

Besides worrying about speeding, re-fueling, stopping for breaks, road kill, and staying awake, you have to worry of course about FOOD. The only items I will purchase at a rest stop are coffee and gum, otherwise I try to pack everything I need. I know that if I do eat take-out from any of those rest stops I will instantly have tummy issues along with the incredible desire to take a nap. HA! The other solution is: Pack It Up. Planning to pack a meal for the road is simple and doesn’t take a lot of time. Do it the night before and pack your small meals in a cooler or a brown bag. If you have children, you already do this for them, so might as well double it up!

I honestly do not want to sound like a snob, but if I can avoid eating fast food, I will do it. In the long run, I will feel better, have more energy, and be more satisfied. I’ll take option B. For this road trip, I packed items that I could eat quickly when filling up for gas, would remain fresh, and included all the nutrients that I would consume on a daily basis. Easy as pie! I grabbed a big cup of coffee at the local deli and hit the road. Thankfully it was gorgeous, warm, and quiet (since it was Sunday morning).

Breakfast:

  • Large cup of coffee with skim milk and sugar
  • 1 c Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1 c Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 c pumpkin
  • Dash of cinnamon

Small Lunch:

  • 1 whole wheat tortilla (not pictured, but eaten of course)
  • 1 T Crazy Richard’s crunchy peanut butter (Love the crunch & texture of this!)
  • 1 sliced apple

Dinner: (eaten in the hotel room)

  • Italian hoagie that I picked up in the AM from the local deli
  • Black & White Cookie (My sweet tooth was craving this!)

When I finally got to the hotel, I actually had made incredible timing and decided to do a quick workout on the treadmill, to hopefully loosen me up and prevent morning stiffness. It was tough, because I was just tired from all the driving, but know my body will be happy tomorrow AM. I enjoyed every single bite of my Italian hoagie and my cookie! This Jersey girl has seriously missed those sandwiches. Amazing!

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. that always happends to me too! I get so stiff and tired from driving but I am sure your legs will be very happy you ran. I love that PB by the way!

    November 15, 2010
  2. that is not at ALL snobby! i hate fast food, I genuinely do not like it at all and if I can avoid it I will! BUT if I do eat at one once in a while I try to make the healthy choice of a salad (and add nuts that I usually have in my bag) or grilled chicken sandwich with mustard! welcome back to MONDAY! 🙂

    November 15, 2010

Leave a Reply

