Skip to content

5 Things You Should Do On Your “Rest Day”

Wow it is already November! As She Rocks Fitness woke up this morning and poked my head out from underneath the comforter, I saw frost on the windows and a lot more trees that were looking pretty naked. I think we can probably say that our Indian Summer is over. 😦 It is sad to think about, but there is so much to look forward to…Hello Thanksgiving!

This morning I enjoyed a couple cups of hot coffee and a bowl of oats that included a heaping cup of frozen blueberries and 1 T of almond butter. Simple and filling! I really didn’t need more than this, because today is a “rest day” for me and I usually cut back just a little bit on my calorie consumption. When I take a “rest day” sometimes I’m starving and other times I’m pretty full. I will just listen to my body and do what is necessary. 🙂

Taking a “rest day” is hard for me and I will be the first to admit it! I love to train, feel sore, sweat, and get the runners “high”, but with the intensity that I train with on a daily basis it is 100% necessary that I take breaks. It has taken me a while to understand the importance of taking a “rest day”, but I’m learning to embrace it and enjoy it, because I know in the long run that it will only make me stronger and healthier. Lately I’ve been enjoying 3 days on of training and 1 day off. The first day off I will spend time stretching or take the dogs for a long walk. The second day I will do absolutely nothing! It’s wonderful and well earned. 😉

Whatever level YOU are training at make sure that you take full advantage of your “rest days”. Below I have listed my 5 recommendations as to what you should do on your “rest day”. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me.

  1. Take a Yoga Class: A great way to clear your mind, stretch your muscles, and tone your body all in one class. With so many classes to choose from, check out the schedule at your gym or local studio. Try different classes and see what ones will work best for you. Yoga is great for all athletes and all levels! You will not be disappointed.
  2. Stretch: Stretching is SO SO SO important for everyone! I cannot emphasize this enough. Even I can sometimes slack with stretching and it comes back haunt me at my next workout. Spend 15-30 minutes in front of the TV, outside, wherever to do some stretching. Your body will thank you!
  3. Eat Well: When you take a “rest day” it doesn’t mean you can just fall off the wagon and eat and drink whatever you feel like. Treat this day as you would a training day. Drink lots of water and eat healthy carbohydrates, fats, and protein. If you want that glass of red wine with dinner, go for it. Remember it’s all about moderation. Life is short to deprive yourself of what you love.
  4. Go for a EASY run or a relaxing walk: This is my favorite thing to do on a “rest day”. I usually take the dogs to a trail and will take a leisurely 40-60 minute walk, depending on time. This is a great way to relax, but also get some physical activity into your day and get your muscles warm and loose. A relaxing day can also include: shopping, yard work, or cleaning.
  5. Do Nothing: Okay maybe this is my favorite! I try to keep my “do nothing” day for the weekend, when I can watch football and marathons of NCIS. This used to be hard for me to do, but now I’m embracing this notion, because when I go to the gym the next day, I feel AMAZING. Enjoy this day all day!

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Those are all great rest day activities. I like having some light movement too.

    November 1, 2010
  2. ahh i LOVE my rest days, they usually consist of me sitting on the couch 🙂 I do also love active rest days…in the winter I do take yoga!

    November 2, 2010

Leave a Reply

