Skip to content

The Purple Monster

It’s SMOOTHIE FRIDAY! And let’s not forget it’s weekend and Halloween. Whew! She Rocks Fitness woke up this morning and even lying in bed, I could feel my sore hamstrings. Apparently I was pretty aggressive yesterday at the gym. After taking a well-needed day off (it was the first time that I actually did no sort of physical activity, and it felt great), I got to the gym and had a killer workout. I tackled 40 minutes on the Stair Master and did 45 minutes of legs. I did supersets with one leg exercise immediately followed by an abdominal exercise. I completed 3 sets of 20 repetitions with a 1 minute rest between each superset. I’m sore!

Thankfully before heading to the gym, I had a delicious bowl of my Pumpkin Oats and was 100% fueled. This bowl of oats is perfect before a long workout and run. I wasn’t really craving a sandwich or salad when I got home, so I decided to make a heavy duty smoothie that would be a perfect recovery drink. This is a great post-workout smoothie that contains plenty of protein, carbohydrates, and healthy fats. This produced a big smoothie and it was delicious. It was also nice to have this smoothie on another weirdly warm day. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2x handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 c Greek yogurt
  • 1 c almond milk
  • 1 c frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

Place all ingredients in a blender and mix it all together. I like my smoothies a little bit more creamy so that I can eat it with a spoon. Everyone has their quirks! Enjoy!

I hope that everyone has a Happy Halloween and a wonderful weekend! Please feel free to share your favorite smoothies with me. I love hearing from you!

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

