Skip to content

P-P-P-PUMPKIN

She Rocks Fitness did not think it would happen, but the obsession with pumpkin this fall has taken over! It has just taken me a little longer to get on the “pumpkin train” to start cooking all my meals with some sort of pumpkin involved. 🙂 Okay, slight exaggeration: it is mainly just breakfast and desert that I use pumpkin.

The best part of pumpkin is that it is extremely good for you! It is loaded with: zinc, iron, fiber, vitamin C, and beta carotene. Pumpkin seeds also contain large amounts of: protein, fiber, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper, and manganese. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! And of course the recipes for pumpkin are also endless: pastas, soups, pancakes, muffins, breads… I could go on forever. Just Google “pumpkin recipes” and you will see.

So in the last 24 hours these are my 3 delicious pumpkin recipes. Yes, you have seen these before, but I just thought it would be fun to share to show just how much pumpkin a girl can consume.

Breakfast: Pumpkin Pie Smoothie (Wednesday Morning)

  • 1 c Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/2 c Pumpkin
  • 1/2 c Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Frozen Banana
  • 1/2 c Special K with Berries
  • Dash of Cinnamon

You can add the cereal or not. It is totally up to you. I like it because it adds “crunch” and I am a huge fan of crunch. Plus I also enjoy eating my smoothies with a spoon. You can also add: pumpkin pie spice, vanilla, or other ingredients. It’s whatever is going to make you smile, so try it out and ENJOY!

Desert: Pumpkin Bars with Walnuts (Wednesday night)

I recently started following Danica Pike on Twitter, and when I first went to her site, what was the first post I saw, but “The Best Pumpkin Bars Ever“. If you want the recipe, just click on the title and you will find her delicious and reasonably healthy desert. YUMMY is all I have to say!


Breakfast: Pumpkin Oats (Thursday morning)

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1 c sliced rasberries
  • 1/2 c pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1/2 c water

I love raspberries in my oatmeal and was a little hesitant to have it with pumpkin, but it’s actually delicious and adds a nice natural sweetness to the dish. Bananas would be perfect in this as well, but since I’m going for a long run after this bowl of oats, I’m going to save my banana for my post-workout recovery shake!

The next pumpkin recipe I’m looking to try is Rachel Ray’s Penne-Wise Pumpkin Pasta. If you have any recipes you want to share, please send them this way. I love cooking and trying out new things. 🙂

Still trying to decide whether to go for a long run or hit the gym…Happy Thursday!

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. LOVE THESE!!! amazing recipes, thanks for sharing 🙂

    October 28, 2010

Leave a Reply

