Skip to content

When you have one of those AMAZING runs…

How good is that feeling you have when you start your run and everything just feels AMAZING? Your legs feel strong, you feel fueled, no cramping, no aching ANYWHERE, and you feel like you could run forever. She Rocks Fitness had one of those Sunday runs that makes me truly love running and want to keep training and living a healthy lifestyle. I was planning on going for an early morning run, but getting early out of bed was not happening, and I’m so glad I stayed under the covers. I didn’t get up until 10 AM.

Brunch was delicious. I had 2 1/2 cups of coffee (I love love coffee), 2 pretty decent sized challah french toast, 3 thin slices of bacon, and 1 cup of cantaloupe. The breakfast of champions! I felt so much better after eating and was ready to motivate for a long run. I gave myself a hour and a half to digest and was drinking water continuously throughout that time. I was energized and ready to go. It also helped that it was 70 degrees, slightly overcast, and no wind. Um, hello perfect running weather!

I put my headphones on to Paul Oakenfold (my music of choice these days!) and was ready to rock. I started running and immediately felt awesome. I kept saying to myself: “Is this feeling going to last the whole time or is something going to go wrong at some point?” But it didn’t, I just keep cruising along, flying up hills, keeping a strong steady pace. My goal was an hour and as I got back to the house, I couldn’t believe I was already done. Got to love runs like that! And trust me, I do have bad runs, but when great ones like this happen, you have to smile and gloat!

My post-workout snack was a Blueberry Green Monster Smoothie. I needed something to hold me over until dinner, but wasn’t that hungry. So this was perfect and delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 c frozen blueberries
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 c almond milk

Dinner was a slow cooker recipe I found from Gina’s Skinny Recipes. Thanks Gina! Crock Pot Chicken Taco’s were prepared in less than ten minutes and put in the slow cooker for 6 hours on high. I served this dish over quinoa with some low-fat shredded Mexican cheese, blue corn chips, and salsa. Great recipe and so worth cooking this fall! No cooking on Monday, leftovers planned! 🙂

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

