Skip to content

Monday Wrap-Up: Workouts & Food

Be thankful for beautiful weekends and a beautiful start to the week, because it’s going to get nasty! I feel like this weekend was a tease as to what lies ahead. I was in shorts and t-shirts the whole time, my kind of weather. And Monday turned out to be just as gorgeous! With that being said, I refused to go to the gym and be cooped up while it is sunny and still summer-like, even though there is the smell of fall in the air. I know, kind of weird, but oddly true. 🙂 It was 75 degrees yesterday, the sun was shining, and another day with no clouds in the sky. Perfect for some outdoor training! Kala was pretty happy too running around the property, chasing sticks, dodging acorns, and doing her rolling around.

She Rocks Fitness started the morning off with 2 delicious cups of coffee with almond milk and cinnamon, followed by a delicious oatmeal combination of 1/2 c of oatmeal, 1/4 Trader Joe’s Antioxidant Trail Mix, 1/2 c of sliced raspberries, and 1/4 c pumpkin. This was so sweet and filling. The key is to add the raspberries and pumpkin when the oats have one minute left so that it gets nice and blended. Amazing!

I let my food settle for about an hour, while I finished up on some e-mails and then hit the pavement. I was running in a tank top and shorts…wonderful! The run was 40 minutes and I did a tad bit over 4 1/2 miles and felt great. My legs were a little stiff during some of the hills, but I was able to push through. This run was so much better than the Stair Master. Three hours after breakfast it was time for lunch.

Lunch was easy, healthy, and delicious! I had a big leftover salad from dinner the night before and topped it with hot sauce and shredded chicken. The salad included: fresh lettuce just picked from a friend’s garden, green and red pepper, red onion, avocado, and olive oil and balsamic.

Before starting dinner, I wanted to get in a quick 40 minute circuit, that of course could be done outside. I am trying maximize as much outdoor sunny weather before the rain comes. I literally made this up as I went along. I wanted a full body quick workout and this did the job. I’m satisfied. I rallied up the dogs and let them run around while I got to work on this circuit. I grabbed my 5 lbs weights and here it is:

  • 1 minute Jumping Jacks (30 second rest)
  • 1 minute squats (30 second rest)
  • 1 minute leg kicks on each leg (30 second rest)
  • 1 minute butt kicks (30 second rest)
  • Squats with Shoulder Press: 3 sets of 15 repetitions with 1 minute rest
  • Lunge with Biceps Curl
  • Plies with Lateral Raise
  • Shoulder Press: 3 sets of 15 repetitions with 1 minute rest
  • Standing Dumbbell Fly
  • Triceps Kickback
  • Push-Ups: 3 sets of 15 repetitions with 1 minute rest
  • Plank position with Dumbbell Row
  • Plank: Hold for one minute
  • Sit-Up with Dumbbell Overhead: 3 sets of 15 repetitions with 1 minute rest
  • Oblique Twist with Dumbbell
  • Side Plank: One Minute each side

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

