Skip to content

CKO Kickboxing = Awesome Workout!

She Rocks Fitness already tackled one of her goals for the month of October and it was exactly how I needed to end my Tuesday evening! After another cloudy and rainy day, I was getting a little stir-crazy and needed to get out of the house for a few hours. When the opportunity arose to take a kickboxing class before dinner, I said Let’s Do It! Like I mentioned in yesterdays post and other posts, I also get stuck into doing the same routine day after day at the gym. It is important to try new exercises and classes to keep you and your muscles surprised. I woke up this morning and was like “Whoa!” my oblique muscles are SORE. Thanks to CKO Kickboxing!

Class was at 4:30 PM last night and was being taught by my friend Bridget. Bridget and I went to elementary school together, WAY back in the day. 🙂 I recently contacted her on Facebook, to ask about the class, which one should I go to, cost, etc. She sent me all the details and I showed up last night in workout clothes and she handed me those fabulous pink boxing gloves. Perfect! When you walk in the door, the set-up is very simple, but efficient. There are lines of punching bags, dumbbells in the corner, and a cushioned floor. I was excited, because I have never taken a kickboxing class before. Bring it!

After showing me all the moves that we would be using, we were ready to start class. Lady Gaga was blaring in the background and Bridget started class with a 5 minute warm-up. As we were going through the warm-up, I had a huge smile on my face. Bridget was doing all the moves that She Rocks Fitness makes her clients do: squat jumps, burpees, mountain climbers, jumping jacks, and planks. I was soaking wet! Next we went into different sequences with punching, kicking, sprints, sit-ups, and only 2 breaks to get a sip of water and catch your breath. This was awesome!

I could not believe how quickly the class flew by and I will definitely be taking this class again. Bridget recommended that I come on a Monday night class, when the gym is packed with other students. I’ll be there! Make sure to check out CKO Kickboxing for locations in your area and try out something new the month of October. You will not regret this!

She Rocks Fitness offers At-Home Personal Training, Boot Camps, Yoga, and On-Line Training Programs. Make sure to check out She Rocks Fitness.

Contact me at kuhran@sherocksdenver.com or (973) 978-7359.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love kickboxing! I haven’t ever done a class with bags and gloves and all though. I bet it would feel awesome. And I’m with you on how important it is to try new things.

    October 6, 2010
    • Kathleen #

      I’m not sure where you live, but it would be worth looking into! I was able to let out a lot of aggression. 🙂 I felt so energized, happy, and confident. Love feeling that way after a workout!

      Have a great day!

      October 6, 2010

Leave a Reply

